Stop Test Driving Your Girlfriend

This one’s for the boys. As I write this, I have in mind you single guys who read this blog. When it comes to dating, too many guys are more influenced by the spirit of the age than by the Spirit of God. I hope that you will take a few minutes and give careful attention to “Stop Test Driving Your Girlfriend” by Michael Lawrence. Here’s a teaser:

Too often in dating relationships we think and act like consumers rather than servants. And not very good consumers at that. After all, no one would ever go down to his local car dealership, take a car out for an extended test drive, park it in his garage, drive it back and forth to work for several weeks, maybe take it on vacation, having put lots of miles on it, and then take it back to the dealer and say, “I’m just not ready to buy a new car.”

But so often, that’s exactly the way men treat the women they’re dating. Endlessly “test driving” the relationship, without any real regard for the spiritual and emotional wear and tear they’re putting her through, all the while keeping their eyes out for a better model.

The Scriptures are clear. We are not to take advantage of one another in this way. Instead, as Paul says in Romans 13:10, “Love does no harm to its neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.”

(HT: Justin Taylor)

8 thoughts on “Stop Test Driving Your Girlfriend”

  1. Jason,

    I am not aiming this at anyone in particular. I think this is a problem that a lot of guys have. Including me for a time when I was single.

    Thanks,
    Denny

  2. great post Denny, as you know me, I don’t think test driving is anything that is based in the counsel of Scripture, rather it is based in culturalistic traditionalism.

  3. Denny, I like the picture you included in the post. I also linked to this quality article from my site. This is random, but I am a new student at SBTS and was sitting in Greek class today as we covered infinitives. Dr. Plummer mentioned your name several times and talked about your dissertation on infinitives. I thought you might be encouraged to know that your name and dissertation have not been forgotten at the seminary.

  4. Dear Denny,

    I also struggled with this for a season as a single guy. I have been seeing your name (Denny Burk) all over numerous blogs, so I’m glad to at last be writing to you more directly… -:)

    I am an apprentice at The Bethlehem Insitute, a seminary-level training program run by Pastors John Piper and Tom Steller. I would like to commend to you (and your church/minisry) a short, concise book I’ve written called With One Voice: Singleness, Dating, and Marriage to the Glory of God. It has been endorsed by Albert Mohler, Ben Patterson, Bruce Ware, and Rick Holland (college pastor to John MacArthur). You can read a brief summary, several reviews, and the endorsements here:

    http://www.alexchediak.com

    I commend this book to you for the blessing that I think it will bring you and others. Here is a review that I am particularly humbled by:

    http://www.alexchediak.com/ryan_corbett_seminary_student.php

    Many blessings to your ministry,

    Alex

Leave a Reply

